TOWNSHIP OF OCEAN PLANNING BOARD RE-ORGANIZATION MEETING January 5, 2010

Meeting began at 7:30 PM

The meeting of the Ocean Township Planning Board was held on the above date and time. The meeting was called to order.

Pledge of Allegiance

STATEMENT: Pursuant to the provisions of the New Jersey Open Public Meetings Act, sending copies of the notice of the meeting properly provided adequate notice of the meeting to the Times-Beacon and the Atlantic City Press. Notice was posted on the bulletin board in the Administration Building.

ROLL CALL

Members Present: Vince Anepete Robert Knowles Rita Sweeney Ken Bynoe

Ralph Avellino Joe Lachawiec Dennis Tredy

James Eckert William Sneddon Gordon VonSchmidt

Members Absent: Craig James

Secretary reminded the Board that seconds on nominations are not required.

<u>First Nomination is for Chairman</u>. William Sneddon nominated Vincent Anepete for Chairman. There being no other nominations, nominations closed.

Roll Call: (Ayes) Sneddon, Anepete, Avellino, Eckert, Knowles, Lachawiec, Sweeney, Tredy, VonSchmidt, Bynoe.

The secretary turned the meeting over to Chairman Anepete who thanked the board for their confidence in his leadership.

Nomination for Vice Chairman. Chairman Anepete nominated Ralph Avellino for Vice-Chairman. There being no other nominations, nominations closed.

Roll Call: (Ayes) Anepete, Eckert, Knowles, Lachawiec, Sneddon, Sweeney, Tredy, VonSchmidt, Bynoe. Abstain: Avellino.

Vice-Chairman Avellino thanked the board.

Nomination for Secretary. Chairman Anepete nominated Beth O'Connor as secretary.

There being no other nominations, nominations closed.

Roll Call: (Ayes) Anepete, Avellino, Eckert, Knowles, Lachawiec, Sneddon, Sweeney, Tredy, VonSchmidt, Bynoe.

The secretary thanked the board.

<u>Nomination for Alternate Secretary</u>. Chairman Anepete nominated Laurie Clune as Alternate Secretary. There being no other nominations, nominations closed.

Roll Call: (Ayes) Anepete, Avellino, Eckert, Knowles, Lachawiec, Sneddon, Sweeney, Tredy, VonSchmidt, Bynoe.

<u>Nomination for Board Attorney</u>. Mr. Tredy nominated Stephen Yost of Haines & Yost as Board Attorney. There being no other nominations, nominations closed.

Roll Call: (Ayes) Tredy, Avellino, Eckert, Knowles, Lachawiec, Sneddon, Sweeney, VonSchmidt, Bynoe, Anepete.

<u>Nomination for Board Conflict Attorney</u>. Mr. Eckert nominated Eric Bernstein and Associates as Conflict Attorney. There being no other nominations, nominations closed.

Roll Call: (Ayes) Eckert, Avellino, Lachawiec, Sneddon, Sweeney, Tredy, VonSchmidt, Bynoe, Anepete. Abstain: Knowles.

Nomination for Board Engineer. Mrs. Sweeney nominated Wayne McVicar/Remington, Vernick & Vena. There being no other nominations, nominations closed.

Roll Call: (Ayes) Sweeney, Avellino, Eckert, Knowles, Lachawiec, Sneddon, Tredy, VonSchmidt, Bynoe, Anepete.

<u>Nomination for Conflict Engineer</u>. Mr. Avellino nominated Birdsall Services Group, as Conflict Engineer. There being no other nominations, nominations closed.

Roll Call: (Ayes) Avellino, Eckert, Knowles, Lachawiec, Sneddon, Sweeney, Tredy, VonSchmidt, Bynoe, Anepete.

Nomination for Landscape Architect. Robert Knowles nominated Scott Taylor of Taylor Design Group as Landscape Architect. There being no other nominations, nominations closed. Roll Call: (Ayes) Knowles, Avellino, Eckert, Lachawiec, Sneddon, Sweeney, Tredy, VonSchmidt, Bynoe, Anepete.

The board discussed that there were no RFP's submitted for Conflict Landscape Architect. Chairman Anepete recommended that we leave the position vacant for now.

Meeting dates will be the first Thursday of each month at 7:30 PM unless otherwise noted. The meeting dates for 2010 will be: February 4, March 4, April 1, May 6, June 3, July 1, August 5, September 2, October 7, November 4 and December 2.

Planning Board newspapers will be The Times-Beacon, The Asbury Park Press and the Press of Atlantic City.

Chairman Anepete welcomed Mr. Bynoe to the Planning Board. The board briefly discussed the training which will be held on April 10, 2010.

Mr. Knowles made a motion to adjourn.

The Redevelopment Sub-Committee volunteers are: Vice-Chairman Avellino, Ms. Sweeney, Mr. Sneddon and Chairman Anepete. Chairman Anepete reviewed the position of the board that no one speaks on any of the applications that are before the Redevelopment Entity. The board should not be in a questioning position at these meetings.

Quorum requirements were reviewed for all meetings. Mr. Eckert stated he will miss the meetings for February and March.
Mr. Tredy wished everyone a happy and healthy new year.
Motion to adjourn was seconded by Mr. Avellino. All in favor: (aye).
Meeting adjourned at 7:47 PM.
Respectfully Submitted,
Beth O'Connor, Board Secretary